OOTD: Waste Not Want Not

ootd-03-28-2017-aootd-03-28-2017-b

The main event here is the skirt. The story behind it is that someone tipped me off to a huge fabric estate, most of which was donated to my former workplace. The donor allowed me some cherry-picking first, and in a box of fabrics I found an 80s pattern for a high-waisted, yoked skirt. The seamstress had cut her fabric (a high quality purple wool) and her lining and had never assembled it. It had set in that box for so long that it had moth holes scattered about.

I couldn’t throw it away, so I assembled it, and then made wool leaves that drive over the skirt and cover those moth holes, along with embellishing the yoke with another scrap of fabric that was in that box and more wool leaves, buttons, etc. This is the first time I ever wore it. It’s adorable, but that wool is itchy as all get out as only the yoke was lined. I may have to fix that at some point….

One comment

  1. thenaughtybun · March 28

    Awesome! Love the skirt. And I’d definitely line it. It would be too bad to not fully enjoy wearing it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

