OOTD: Lowriders and Andy Warhol

We went to the Lowrider show at the New Mexico Museum of History and it was so incredibly wonderful that words absolutely fail me. This car was designed by a woman (rare in this subculture) and it was glitzy as all get-out. Fortunately I had chosen to wear my vintage sequined vest so I fit right in.

The skirt I bought the day before at Double Take, the thrift store I visit at least twice in the three days that we are in Santa Fe. I had asked them to hold the Andy Warhol skirt up front, and in line to check out, a woman said to another, “Oh my god, that Andy Warhol skirt, you should get that” and the other woman said, “Oh, that’s FABULOUS” and so it was with no small amount of pride (and a smattering of applause from those ladies) that I claimed it as mine. It’s the little things.

Leave a Reply

